My 1968 Pop Charts – The First Ones

The First One: Dec 17th

1. Elenore – The Turtles

2. Those Were The Days – Mary Hopkin

3. Ob La Do Ob La Da – The Marmalade

4. A Minute Of Your Time – Tom Jones

5. Build Me Up Buttercup – The Foundations

6. Ain’t Got No…I Got Life – Nina Simone

7. Something’s Happening – Herman’s Hermits

8. I’m A Tiger – Lulu

9. Eloise – Barry Ryan

10. Breaking Down The Walls Of Heartache – Bandwagon

11. Son Of A Preacher Man – Dusty Springfield

12. Don’t Forget To Catch Me – Cliff Richard

13. Urban Spaceman – Bonzo Dog Doo Dah Band

14. One Two Three O’Leary – Des O’Connor

15. Harper Valley PTA – Jeannie C Riley

16. This Old Heart Of Mine – The Isley Brothers

17. May I Have The Next Dream – Malcolm Roberts

18. The Good, The Bad & The Ugly – Hugo Montenegro

19. Love Child – Diana Ross & The Supremes

20. If I Knew Then What I Know Now – Val Doonican

OK, some frighteningly MOR forgettable stuff in there (I was almost 11 years old!), but there’s also some perennial classics, Motown, Country, Soul & Pop. I guarantee most kids today will at least know the Foundations & Nina Simone tracks as they are on British radio all the time…Image

Me, in 1971, that’s John

2 thoughts on “My 1968 Pop Charts – The First Ones

  1. Three videos has expired 😦

Leave a Reply

