THE MOODY BLUES LIVE AT BOURNEMOUTH INTERNATIONAL CENTRE 19th JUNE 2013

It’s only taken me 40 years to get round to seeing the Moody’s. Wouldn’t want to rush these things…. Given that I’ve been aware of them for nearly 50 years that’s quite a surprise! Anyways, I suppose I shouldn’t have been that shocked when Graeme Edge announced he was 72 years young and then launched (appropriately given it’s 1969 Man On The Moon inspiration) into a version of a song I’d not heard before, Higher And Higher, jigged about the stage nicely and chatted engagingly to the audience. More expected were Justin Hayward & John Lodge centrestage, and fair enough too, I’ve long been a fan of Justin’s singing voice (still got it) and solo excursions, and of his 1975 hit Blue Guitar with John Lodge, but I hadn’t realised how many John sang too. Nice surprise. As was the rocking young supporting band, 2 ladies 2 gents, to give a fairly boisterous performance, no support, two halves, and the audience fanbase seemed quite faithful too.

I enjoyed hearing the old songs, particularly the late 60’s and early 70’s stuff, as that was when I was most aware of them and they were appearing on Top Of The Pops. That said, I also liked their early 80’s American hits (minor UK hits). The big question for me was how their classic Nights In White Satin could possibly come over live, given it’s very ambitious orchestral setting, and I also hoped they would do (but also the same issues for) Isn’t Life Strange and Question. As it turned out, no worries! It sounded fabulous, and they did all the singles I wanted from that period, including Ride My See Saw, a fab track that ought to be re-issued, as an encore. I could nitpick, and say it was a pity they didn’t do their great song Simple Game (which I saw The Four Tops original line-up do on the same stage back in the 80‘s), or Blue Guitar as a bonus, but hey ho, plenty of others. It’s odd for me these days seeing pop stars from my youth not as young as they once were, but I’m still happy for them to tour if they can still put on a show. Older doesn’t mean old. I went to see Andy Williams when he was 80 and he was fine, and Glen Campbell the other year and he had Alzheimer’s and he was still great. As for the Moody’s, I’d go again!

My faves on the night:

  1. Nights In White Satin
  2. Ride My See-Saw
  3. Question
  4. Isn’t Life Strange
  5. The Voice
  6. I’m Just A Singer In A Rock n Roll Band
  7. Higher & Higher
  8. Gemini Dream
  9. Tuesday Afternoon
  10. Steppin’ In A Slide Zone
Leave a Reply

