Alison Moyet Live At Bournemouth Pavilion Halloween 2013

Bournemouth Pavilion Oct 31st 2013

Bournemouth Pavilion
Oct 31st 2013

Alison Moyet Live At Bournemouth Pavilion Halloween 2013

Still in fine voice after all these years, and back on form with 80’s-inspired (but not retro) varied new music, Alison was an enthusuiastic turn and went down a treat with the audience.

The support act, Richard Walters, was an engaging man and his guitar and his songs, quality laid back ballads for the most part, though I particularly enjoyed his Smokey-Robinson-inspired more upbeat track. Apologies for not writing down the track names, but I must say Richard has a gorgeous flawless singing voice, warm with a wide range. Apparently his songs have featured on many a US TV drama show, and Bernard Butler produced his second album – which for me ticks the box right off marked “good”. If I had a “druther” I’d like to hear the songs set to a band backing live, to add more musically, as I was reminded a bit of bands like Athlete, Turin Brakes, Starsailor and early Coldplay a bit, all of whom I like. Obviously the songs don’t need that necessarily, his voice carries them anyway, but just my preference.

Alison sprinkled some oldies amongst the new album tracks, the audience was attentive and appreciative (especially first single When I Was Your Girl) and Alison was genuinely happy, I think, at the reception each song got, beaming delightfully and looking good. Ahhh, sweet. I especially like acts that address the audience personally, one of Alison’s strong-points there, and the lighting set off the songs well, notably on the re-working of Is This Love which slowed it down and showed off the song in a more effective way than the original (good) pop version did. Her two co-band-mates were great with the instrumental and vocal support (and I think co-writing, programming and production duties) Guy Sigsworth and Chris Elms. I was impressed with the new stuff (I haven’t bought the album yet) it sounded pretty  varied, Alison sung flawlessly, and the reworking of old hits was interesting, albeit a few of them missing, though as she said, it wasn’t a Greatest Hits tour and I appreciated the assurance that 3 songs in the finale encore and that was it – party-time is always saved for the end (my fave Alison hit Whispering Your Name kicking it off, and  Don’t Go finishing it beautifully). So, my faves:

  1. Don’t Go
  2. Whispering Your Name
  3. Nobody’s Diary
  4. Is This Love
  5. Love Resurrection
  6. All Cried Out
  7. Situation
  8. When I Was Your Girl
  9. Only You
  10. Horizon Flame
2 thoughts on “Alison Moyet Live At Bournemouth Pavilion Halloween 2013

  1. Great review, John!
    While i was listening to Alison’s new album it seemed to me that her voice sounds quite different to the one we got accustomed. I wonder was that her special trick or her voice really has changed?
    Were she singing her classic songs in the old manner or she reworked them? How did her band play the old tracks? I mean did they sound different?

    • Thanks Andrey, I can’t say I’d noticed her voice that different in concert, but she is very slim these days, and older, so it may have matured a bit. She still has power behind it, though and can hold those big notes. Some of the old songs were very different (Is This Love) and some were pretty much as you’d imagine (Situation/ Don’t Go) complete with 80’s synth sounds, others a bit of both (Only You/Whispering Your Name) – I enjoyed the mix, anyway 🙂 I had a nostalgic tear in my eye here and there…:)

Leave a Reply

