50 Years Of watching Doctor Who

Helloo, welcome to the 50th birthday celebrations. Not of Doctor Who, 50 years of me watching Doctor Who! Life was hard back in the day, I basically lived in Coronation Street, Mining Town Mansfield. We had outside lavvies (oh those spiders were huge!), pittlepots under the bed (oh the mess when you knocked it over), no heating, no bath (tin bath filled with a kettle in the front room), blankets made from old pullovers, no cars, no phones, old clothes and one expensive luxury item on HP: a television. Heaven! It transported me to magical black and white worlds of  fantasy and music, and it continues to do the same (albeit in colour) 50 years on…

My 12 strongest 60’s Doctor Who fragments of memories, and then a treat: yes, my schoolbook  reviews of Doctor Who episodes age 7, Feb 1965. If the futuristic, unthinkable fantasy world of the internet had existed then, I would have posted my drawings and comments to other fans. I had to make do with my teacher and mum as my audience. Fortunately mum spent 50 years  loving Doctor Who too (and all sci fi) even if these days she can’t hold on to the recent memories, so she was a fan tooJ

Hope you like ‘em, who knows maybe these are the world’s earliest fan boy musings still in existence!

1. The first episode. Susan going inside the Tardis, It was huuuuge inside and tiny outside. Wow! Her grandfather was a bit grumpy and scary!

2. Daleks. Oh they were soooo scary, the exterminate ray gun, you could almost feel it going off!

3. The butterfly woman who got her head stuck in a wall, oh I was so shocked she died. The giant ants were a bit scary.

4. Going to the pictures to see the films: the Daleks were colourful, who knew!? Bernard Cribbins was in everything, but he wasn’t singing Right Said Fred, sadly.

5. The spooky toymaker and his scary toys.

6. Katrina grabbing the handle in the tardis airlock and killing herself. I was genuinely upset.

7. The new Doctor. He was even better than the first one, and Polly, Ben and Jamie I loved them!

8. The Yeti in the London underground, that was scary! I’d been on it many times by then….

9. The Cybermen: Oh. My. God. Scariest monsters EVER. Nightmares!

10. The Ice Warriors hissing evil. More Nightmares, especially all those bubbles.

11. That scene of Victoria stood on the beach as the Tardis flew off. Oh no!

12. The Doctor, Zoe and Jamie: my absolute favouritist line-up, and my all-time fave episode The Mind Robber, spinning  tardis control panel, exploding Tardis, fake Jamie, picture-puzzle faces, weirdness and  disturbing (but fab!)ImageImageImageImageImageImage

2 thoughts on “50 Years Of watching Doctor Who

  1. Hi, John!
    This is fantastic piece of history! It’s amazing that you managed to save your first impressions on those early Doctor’s episode. I have first 2 epidodes on DVD, but still can’t find the time to watch them.
    I’ve seen some 70’s and 80’s Doctors and the new ones (2006-2011) for sure. And frankly speaking, this is the rare case when the new ones not worse than the old ones. In some episode they even better. Don’t get me wrong, i love old Dr.Who. They are a bit too naive, but certainly have their charm!
    Oh and i still can’t decide which Doctor is the best.

    • Hi Andrej thanks for the enthusiasm! I love the Troughton Dr Who, and the Tom baker period too in particular, but the 2005 onwards series have been way way better. I also cant decide, though the tennant run was pretty epic!

      cheers!
      john

Leave a Reply

