My 1984 Charts – July

3rd July 1984

One of the longest (hot) summers of my life, as misery continues, years of job applications had become unbearable, just the thought of filling out a job application (no computers to help in those days, all tedious long-hand) still fills me with tedium and I’ll do anything to avoid it. That’s why (with one head-hunted-exception) I haven’t done any for 25 years. Exams, on the other hand, are a piece of piss in comparison and I carried on doing them for another 20 years on and off. Hey ho.

I think the lack of new entries was more of a reflection of my growing apathy and misery than the music scene, and sad songs still saying so much more than angry ones, so Frankie get knocked off after a mere 2 week run in favour of one of The Human League’s least-remembered hits, the sad Life On Your Own, which extended their run of consecutive toppers to 6 over 3 years. Only Abba had that degree of consistency to date.

Bob Marley outdoes his original chart position, at 5, the gorgeous Waiting In Vain, and the Pointer Sisters get a second Top 10 in a row jumping up with another pop gem. Robin Gibb’s synthypop flop gives him a 4th solo Top 10 15 years after his first one, inexplicably (well, explicably, actually, as The Bee Gees were persona non grata after the Saturday Night Fever backlash, which if nothing else proves the public hate mega-success, cos the Gibbs didn’t lose their ability to write great songs for the entirety of their career. They just went in and out of fashion at regular intervals.

Lloyd Cole gets a deserved Top 10 with his Perfect Skin, and The Bluebells fabulous Young At Heart leaps into the 20 along with Scritti’s Absolute, and Tina’s simmering biggie, What’s Love Got To Do With It, co-written by Lyle (of Gallagher And Lyle hitsters) was about to give her a career-biggest solo hit (in the UK charts at least – she’d already hit number one in mine with Ike in 1973). Highest new entry is the brilliant Self Control from the late Laura Branigan. I didn’t love Gloria much, but this record was another thing entirely, powerful and passionate, and full of Coldplay-styled woah-oh’s singalong fabulousness.

Leaving a Billy Joel album-scraper, and Mike Oldfield getting together with Moonlight Shadow vocalist Maggie Reilly again, but this time with credit. To France? Certainly not To the UK Top 40… TV, give or take 2 or 3 shows from 1984, was almost entirely devoted to 60’s and 70’s re-runs, as the extra TV channel (Channel 4) gave lots of opportunities to view popular oldies that hadn’t been around for years, and gave me a half-hour or so of nostalgia-filled relief from depression. I know now I was seriously depressed, but then all I saw was insomnia, and increasing misery and frustration with no idea what was going on in my head or why. Music, TV and Legion Of Super-Heroes comics (by now one of DC comics hottest and biggest-selling properties) kept me going. Mind you DC Comics had just grasped the money-maker and were about to wring it dry by increasing paper quality (and price) by killing off one of my boyhood character favourites, Karate Kid, quite dramatically.

1 ( 3 ) LIFE ON YOUR OWN Human League
2 ( 1 ) TWO TRIBES Frankie Goes To Hollywood
3 ( 4 ) EYES WITHOUT A FACE Billy Idol
4 ( 2 ) I WANNA BE LOVED Elvis Costello
5 ( 7 ) WAITING IN VAIN Bob Marley And The Wailers
6 ( 9 ) TALKING LOUD AND CLEAR OMD
7 ( 6 ) TIME AFTER TIME Cyndi Lauper
8 ( 13 ) JUMP (FOR MY LOVE) The Pointer Sisters
9 ( 23 ) BOYS DO FALL IN LOVE Robin Gibb
10 ( 16 ) PERFECT SKIN Lloyd Cole And The Commotions

11 ( 10 ) THINKING OF YOU Sister Sledge
12 ( 5 ) HEAVEN KNOWS I’M MISERABLE NOW The Smiths
13 ( 17 ) LOVE RESURRECTION Alison Moyet
14 ( 8 ) SMALLTOWN BOY Bronski Beat
15 ( 30 ) BREAKIN’…THERE’S NO STOPPIN’ US Ollie and Jerry
16 ( 21 ) WHEN DOVES CRY Prince
17 ( 36 ) YOUNG AT HEART The Bluebells
18 ( 20 ) DANCE ME UP Gary Glitter
19 ( 39 ) WHAT’S LOVE GOT TO DO WITH IT Tina Turner
20 ( 27 ) ABSOLUTE Scritti Politti

21 ( 12 ) INFATUATION Rod Stewart
22 ( 29 ) WHITE LINES (DON’T DON’T DO IT) Grandmaster Flash And Melle Mel
23 ( 28 ) CHANGE OF HEART Change
24 ( 14 ) YOU’RE THE BEST THING The Style Council
25 ( 15 ) WHEN AM I GOING TO MAKE A LIVING Sade
26 ( 26 ) SO TIRED Ozzy Osbourne
27 ( 11 ) LOVE ALL DAY Nick Heyward
28 ( 24 ) I WON’T LET THE SUN GO DOWN ON ME Nik Kershaw
29 ( 19 ) ONE BETTER DAY Madness
30 ( 22 ) THE LEBANON Human League

31 ( 18 ) FAREWELL MY SUMMER LOVE Michael Jackson
32 ( 35 ) COME BACK The Mighty Wah!
33 ( 47 ) RELAX Frankie Goes To Hollywood
34 ( NEW ) SELF CONTROL Laura Branigan
35 ( 31 ) SAD SONGS (SAY SO MUCH) Elton John
36 ( 32 ) THE REFLEX Duran Duran
37 ( 37 ) EACH AND EVERY ONE Everything But The Girl
38 ( 25 ) THIN LINE BETWEEN LOVE AND HATE The Pretenders
39 ( 34 ) HIGH ENERGY Evelyn King
40 ( 74 ) STUCK ON YOU Lionel Richie

41 ( 41 ) AUTOMATIC The Pointer Sisters
42 ( 33 ) PEARL IN THE SHELL Howard Jones
43 ( 38 ) I FEEL LIKE BUDDY HOLLY Alvin Stardust
44 ( 66 ) STATE OF SHOCK The Jacksons
45 ( 42 ) SUSANNA The Art Company
46 ( 59 ) LOVE’S CRASHING WAVES Difford and Tillbrook
47 ( 40 ) BORDERLINE Madonna
48 ( 43 ) DANCING WITH TEARS IN MY EYES Ultravox
49 ( 49 ) THOSE FIRST IMPRESSIONS The Associates
50 ( 46 ) LET’S HEAR IT FOR THE BOY Deniece Williams

51 ( 45 ) SEARCHING (I GOTTA FIND A MAN) Hazell Dean
52 ( 50 ) WOOD BEEZ (PRAY LIKE ARETHA FRANKLIN) Scritti Politti
53 ( 44 ) ROUGH JUSTICE Bananarama
54 ( 51 ) DOCTOR MABUSE Propaganda
55 ( 64 ) JAMMING IN AMERICA The Gap Band
56 ( 56 ) BILLIE JEAN Michael Jackson
57 ( 57 ) DAZZLE Siouxsie And The Banshees
58 ( 48 ) LOVE WARS Womack & Womack
59 ( 55 ) ONLY WHEN YOU LEAVE Spandau Ballet
60 ( NEW ) LEAVE A TENDER MOMENT ALONE Billy Joel

61 ( 58 ) I WANT TO BREAK FREE Queen
62 ( 63 ) LET’S DANCE David Bowie
63 ( 62 ) THE DAY BEFORE YOU CAME Abba
64 ( 53 ) AIN’T NOBODY Rufus and Chaka Khan
65 ( 54 ) JUST BE GOOD TO ME SOS Band
66 ( 65 ) RADIO GA GA Queen
67 ( NEW ) TO FRANCE Mike Oldfield and Maggie Reilly
68 ( 60 ) WAKE ME UP BEFORE YOU GOGO Wham!
69 ( 67 ) HIGH ON EMOTION Chris De Burgh
70 ( 52 ) DANCING IN THE DARK Bruce Springsteen

71 ( 61 ) ONE LOVE Bob Marley & The Wailers
72 ( 69 ) HAND IN GLOVE Sandie Shaw
73 ( 68 ) SOMEBODY’S WATCHING ME Rockwell
74 ( 75 ) BACK IN THE OLD COUNTRY Tom Robinson
75 ( NEW ) WE’RE NOT GONNA TAKE IT Twisted Sister

TV
1 Star Trek: Charlie X
2 The Young Ones: Summer Holiday
3 Hill Street Blues
4 Soap
5 Addams Family
6 Batman
7 Monkees
8 Along Came A Spider: film
9 Professionals
10 Top Of The Pops
11 Twilight Zone
12 Tenko
13 Sullivans
14 Rhoda
15 Upstairs Downstairs

10th July 1984

If you don’t want to read about bad times and misery, just skip to the chart rundown. I would! I think it’s worth self-indulgently putting it in though, as I have absolutely no rose-tinted spectacles about the Eighties, bar the music, films and some TV. For some it was pure hell!

I’ve found my diaries. In one sense it’s hooray (when I do other years) and in another it’s OMG!!!! I’ve not read them ever (cos I was an arrogant jumped-up smart arse and didn’t want to be reminded of how much of a dick I could be to my family), but I started writing up my thoughts and events in 1977 and kept going till about 2003 when it all went too pear-shaped to even try. I’ve just flicked through June/July 1984 which has reminded me that I wasn’t just dealing with unemployment, my family was fragmenting around me – it’s not fair to mention any of it here, but the root causes were the Miners Strike (bruv had no money for a looong time), my unemployment and unhappiness being cut off from my friends, and my parents worrying about my brother and his family, and me, while dealing with a stressful demanding short-staffed long-hours job. Throw in me threatening to leave the new home (I’d forgotten that one!) and look for jobs somewhere else, family bitterness, and hints about my still-obvious “celibacy” as it was phrased. I didn’t go out, I didn’t have friends in Poole, I’d never had any romantic flings, and I was 26. Lot of things to deal with! Poor me, poor everyone, a thoroughly miserable time for us all. People under stress tend to take it out on those closest and things just get worse. We all hated Thatcher, at least, that was for sure, so hey, look on the bright side….!

Anyways, rather than get any more depressing, here’s a few self-indulgent comments from that week starting on the Saturday 7th July:

“Ladies Wimbledon Singles Final – one of the best I’ve seen, I think. Chrissie playing brilliantly, but Martina just SO good, “best ever” they’re saying. If she hadn’t come along Chrissie would have dominated tennis for over 10 years, with over 8 or 9 titles. Martina won.” I was a huge Chris Evert (Lloyd) fan.

“In evening , in garden with mum and dad (day just too hot – a scorcher – garden drier every day)

Tuesday July 10th

Feeling tensed, but waxing lyrical about the repeat of Star Trek: Where No Man Has Gone Before, the huge Trek universe that followed it, and actor Gary Lockwood who was also in 2001: A space Odyssey the same day. I’ll deal with Star Trek in my August 1969 run-down though!

Thursday July 12th

It rained, at long last, hooray! The end of helping mum & dad being short-staffed at work (Marines camp NAAFI shop till) which I was very happy about, seeing it as a distraction from looking for proper jobs, and being all stroppy and resentful. Dick – it turned out to be one of the things keeping me sane and angry. One of the marines nicked an apple from the shop (again), being light-fingered seemed to go with the job, being as they were taught how to break into things and all.

Friday July 13th

My sister-in-law arrived from Mansfield with baby Vicki, told me Dianne, my old Colourcare Photo Lab boss had been made redundant. Only slightly older than me, and sometimes a bit officious, but efficient and mostly upbeat, I had nothing against her but noted she should have taken an earlier job offer. It seems as though I was partly to blame by leaving, giving them an excuse to job-shuffle. That was the last I heard of her till she died a young alcoholic-related death years following years of decline after a failed relationship. Colourcare eventually went bust and everybody lost their jobs. It’s worth mentioning, cos something as seemingly innocuous as unemployment can lead to tragedy, and no doubt is right now in 2014.
On a lighter note, I was doing next week’s charts and was having a tough time deciding between Billy Idol and Prince for number one. Wonder who won!

Charts: 2 weeks for Human League on top, Prince gets his 3rd Top 10 hit in a row, Gary Glitter his first for 10 years, and Alison Moyet her first solo one. Seen them all in concert. Mike Oldfield leaps up To France et trente-deux; Thompson Twins are the highest new entry at 34, and The Young One’s neil covers Traffic’s hippie classic Hole In My Shoe for a new entry at 35. Arrow are Hot Hot Hot at 54, a record that became well known without being much of a hit, John Lennon is Stepping Out at 59, and Radio 2 played Mind Games an hour ago, which makes me miss my hero all over again, 34 years dead this year.

1 ( 1 ) LIFE ON YOUR OWN Human League
2 ( 2 ) TWO TRIBES Frankie Goes To Hollywood
3 ( 3 ) EYES WITHOUT A FACE Billy Idol
4 ( 5 ) WAITING IN VAIN Bob Marley And The Wailers
5 ( 6 ) TALKING LOUD AND CLEAR OMD
6 ( 8 ) JUMP (FOR MY LOVE) The Pointer Sisters
7 ( 4 ) I WANNA BE LOVED Elvis Costello
8 ( 16 ) WHEN DOVES CRY Prince
9 ( 13 ) LOVE RESURRECTION Alison Moyet
10 ( 18 ) DANCE ME UP Gary Glitter

11 ( 7 ) TIME AFTER TIME Cyndi Lauper
12 ( 17 ) YOUNG AT HEART The Bluebells
13 ( 9 ) BOYS DO FALL IN LOVE Robin Gibb
14 ( 19 ) WHAT’S LOVE GOT TO DO WITH IT Tina Turner
15 ( 15 ) BREAKIN’…THERE’S NO STOPPIN’ US Ollie and Jerry
16 ( 10 ) PERFECT SKIN Lloyd Cole And The Commotions
17 ( 28 ) I WON’T LET THE SUN GO DOWN ON ME Nik Kershaw
18 ( 20 ) ABSOLUTE Scritti Politti
19 ( 14 ) SMALLTOWN BOY Bronski Beat
20 ( 11 ) THINKING OF YOU Sister Sledge

21 ( 12 ) HEAVEN KNOWS I’M MISERABLE NOW The Smiths
22 ( 22 ) WHITE LINES (DON’T DON’T DO IT) Grandmaster Flash And Melle Mel
23 ( 23 ) CHANGE OF HEART Change
24 ( 33 ) RELAX Frankie Goes To Hollywood
25 ( 21 ) INFATUATION Rod Stewart
26 ( 26 ) SO TIRED Ozzy Osbourne
27 ( 31 ) FAREWELL MY SUMMER LOVE Michael Jackson
28 ( 32 ) COME BACK The Mighty Wah!
29 ( 34 ) SELF CONTROL Laura Branigan
30 ( 25 ) WHEN AM I GOING TO MAKE A LIVING Sade

31 ( 24 ) YOU’RE THE BEST THING The Style Council
32 ( 67 ) TO FRANCE Mike Oldfield and Maggie Reilly
33 ( 30 ) THE LEBANON Human League
34 ( NEW ) SISTER OF MERCY The Thompson Twins
35 ( NEW ) HOLE IN MY SHOE neil
36 ( 29 ) ONE BETTER DAY Madness
37 ( 44 ) STATE OF SHOCK The Jacksons
38 ( 35 ) SAD SONGS (SAY SO MUCH) Elton John
39 ( 40 ) STUCK ON YOU Lionel Richie
40 ( 36 ) THE REFLEX Duran Duran

41 ( 60 ) LEAVE A TENDER MOMENT ALONE Billy Joel
42 ( 27 ) LOVE ALL DAY Nick Heyward
43 ( 49 ) THOSE FIRST IMPRESSIONS The Associates
44 ( 37 ) EACH AND EVERY ONE Everything But The Girl
45 ( 41 ) AUTOMATIC The Pointer Sisters
46 ( NEW ) LAMENT Ultravox
47 ( 38 ) THIN LINE BETWEEN LOVE AND HATE The Pretenders
48 ( 55 ) JAMMING IN AMERICA The Gap Band
49 ( NEW ) SWEET SOMEBODY Shannon
50 ( 39 ) HIGH ENERGY Evelyn King

51 ( 43 ) I FEEL LIKE BUDDY HOLLY Alvin Stardust
52 ( 46 ) LOVE’S CRASHING WAVES Difford and Tillbrook
53 ( 42 ) PEARL IN THE SHELL Howard Jones
54 ( NEW ) HOT HOT HOT Arrow
55 ( 52 ) WOOD BEEZ (PRAY LIKE ARETHA FRANKLIN) Scritti Politti
56 ( 56 ) BILLIE JEAN Michael Jackson
57 ( 54 ) DOCTOR MABUSE Propaganda
58 ( 50 ) LET’S HEAR IT FOR THE BOY Deniece Williams
59 ( NEW ) STEPPING OUT John Lennon
60 ( 45 ) SUSANNA The Art Company

61 ( 48 ) DANCING WITH TEARS IN MY EYES Ultravox
62 ( 63 ) THE DAY BEFORE YOU CAME Abba
63 ( 62 ) LET’S DANCE David Bowie
64 ( 47 ) BORDERLINE Madonna
65 ( 51 ) SEARCHING (I GOTTA FIND A MAN) Hazell Dean
66 ( 66 ) RADIO GA GA Queen
67 ( 61 ) I WANT TO BREAK FREE Queen
68 ( NEW ) SEVEN SEAS Echo And The Bunnymen
69 ( 72 ) HAND IN GLOVE Sandie Shaw
70 ( 74 ) BACK IN THE OLD COUNTRY Tom Robinson

71 ( 59 ) ONLY WHEN YOU LEAVE Spandau Ballet
72 ( 58 ) LOVE WARS Womack & Womack
73 ( 64 ) AIN’T NOBODY Rufus and Chaka Khan
74 ( 65 ) JUST BE GOOD TO ME SOS Band
75 ( 57 ) DAZZLE Siouxsie And The Banshees

TV
1 Star Trek: Where No Man Has Gone Before
2 2001: A Space Odyssey
3 The Addams Family
4 Rhoda
5 Soap
6 The Monkees
7 Batman
8 Hill Street Blues
9 Top Of The Pops
10 Tenko
11 Wimbledon Ladies Final
12 Taxi
13 WKRP IN Cincinatti
14 Upstairs Downstairs
15 Doctor Who

17th July 1984

A new number one, and it’s Billy Idol and the gorgeous Eyes Without A Face, holding off the brilliant When Doves Cry from the days when Prince had fans. I used to buy his singles and albums (bit of a genius), but his ongoing attacking of his shrinking fanbase over the years and bizarre career moves, means I haven’t bought an album in nearly 20 years, and I’m not likely to.

The Bluebells fab future 90’s UK Number One is at 6, Tina gets a second solo Top 10, Scritti get a second Top 10 with the sweet Absolute, and neil might be letting in water, but it washes him up to 12 ahead of some White Lines, blowing my mind with a classic rap record with a message and a reason to exist, other than “shake your booty b*tch” (that’s the cliche drivel version of rap). Mick Jagger gives the Jacksons a vocal assist, and my is he in a State Of Shock over his duet with Michael only being at 19 (for such a superstar comeback combo) while 20-year-old rivals The Fabs are at 20, the highest new entry being A Hard Day’s Night, a record and film 6-year-old me was very familiar with back in ’64.

Highest “New” new entry though is the lovely Closest Thing To Heaven from the Kane Gang, mellow as much pop was summer of 84. Others: Phil Fearon’s back with pleasant dancepop at 33; Band Of Gold (Dutch cover medley of 70’s sweet soul hits) slips in at 35 mainly due to some old faves being included in it rather than it being any good. Shakatak enter with a jazzdancepopMOR goodie; Divine enters to great disapproval on Top Of The Pops, what with being a big man in a dress who was happy to flaunt it; Dave and Barbara are back again 3 years on from It’s My Party – at least I hadn’t forgotten them, even if the charts had; Blancmange cover Abba with mixed results for me – it’s lower than the still-charting original, and is the first Blancmange record I was a bit disappointed with. Non-Abba fans, however, seemed to like it, despite it having none of the emotionless-but-emotional subtlety of the low-key ballad.

New at 68 an early folk/skiffle revival band in a style The Pogues took the crown for, Boothill Foot Tappers, at 70 John Cougar’s more Mellencamp than feline in his little Pink Houses, and ZZ Top pop in again a year ahead of chart bigness with those fabulous Legs at 74.

So, what tedium in my diary can I share? Stress, video-recorder acting up (catastrophe!), considered helping volunteer at the local Youth Club (more of a shack than a club), then had a to-do with the neighbour banging on the front door while I played my latest records (to try and ease my stress) with the windows open (it was hot) while he was slab banging in his garden (facing my bedroom window). I fumed, ignored him, took the record off, waited, then put Anarchy In The UK on full-blast. He applauded sarcastically when it finished. I’d waited all day, it was early evening, and oh my word the language I used Timothy ranting about the b*stard. I think I was Rik from the Young Ones for a moment. On the plus side, they sold the house a few months later, and happily some good friends ended up buying it years later, knowing full well and not minding my tendency to play loud music for half an hour in the summer window ajar. Hooray!

At the time though, next day, and I quote: “Me, I’m just pissed off being here, and I’m beginning to wish I’d moved to Nottingham instead. I’m going to start looking for jobs elsewhere, I’m just totally disenchanted with suburbia, with unemployment, with having no friends. “What a bummer” to quote neil.”

Just to rub it in, the next day I needed 6 fillings, left my driving licence and cheque cards on the bus after going into Poole to sign on (so had to ring police, banks etc), had a nightmare about my mum being overworked, donated £2 to Save The Children for the awful Ethiopian famine that was going on and upsetting me, I ranted about the “sick sick sick” individual who murdered 20 people (including kids) in Californian McDonalds, the news footage of dead children being shown on TV, and the useless American gun laws. Still, at least none of those sort of things happen these days, eh?

It wasn’t all misery though, I had a decent new haircut, my first ever. Wow!

1 ( 3 ) EYES WITHOUT A FACE Billy Idol
2 ( 8 ) WHEN DOVES CRY Prince
3 ( 2 ) TWO TRIBES Frankie Goes To Hollywood
4 ( 1 ) LIFE ON YOUR OWN Human League
5 ( 6 ) JUMP (FOR MY LOVE) The Pointer Sisters
6 ( 12 ) YOUNG AT HEART The Bluebells
7 ( 9 ) LOVE RESURRECTION Alison Moyet
8 ( 15 ) BREAKIN’…THERE’S NO STOPPIN’ US Ollie and Jerry
9 ( 14 ) WHAT’S LOVE GOT TO DO WITH IT Tina Turner
10 ( 18 ) ABSOLUTE Scritti Politti

11 ( 4 ) WAITING IN VAIN Bob Marley And The Wailers
12 ( 35 ) HOLE IN MY SHOE neil
13 ( 22 ) WHITE LINES (DON’T DON’T DO IT) Grandmaster Flash And Melle Mel
14 ( 5 ) TALKING LOUD AND CLEAR OMD
15 ( 17 ) I WON’T LET THE SUN GO DOWN ON ME Nik Kershaw
16 ( 10 ) DANCE ME UP Gary Glitter
17 ( 7 ) I WANNA BE LOVED Elvis Costello
18 ( 24 ) RELAX Frankie Goes To Hollywood
19 ( 37 ) STATE OF SHOCK The Jacksons featuring Mick Jagger
20 ( NEW ) A HARD DAY’S NIGHT The Beatles

21 ( 11 ) TIME AFTER TIME Cyndi Lauper
22 ( 28 ) COME BACK The Mighty Wah!
23 ( 13 ) BOYS DO FALL IN LOVE Robin Gibb
24 ( 20 ) THINKING OF YOU Sister Sledge
25 ( 29 ) SELF CONTROL Laura Branigan
26 ( 19 ) SMALLTOWN BOY Bronski Beat
27 ( 39 ) STUCK ON YOU Lionel Richie
28 ( 16 ) PERFECT SKIN Lloyd Cole And The Commotions
29 ( NEW ) CLOSEST THING TO HEAVEN The Kane Gang
30 ( 23 ) CHANGE OF HEART Change

31 ( 21 ) HEAVEN KNOWS I’M MISERABLE NOW The Smiths
32 ( 34 ) SISTER OF MERCY The Thompson Twins
33 ( NEW ) EVERYBODY’S LAUGHING Phil Fearon and Galaxy
34 ( 25 ) INFATUATION Rod Stewart
35 ( NEW ) LOVE SONGS ARE BACK AGAIN Band Of Gold
36 ( 33 ) THE LEBANON Human League
37 ( 31 ) YOU’RE THE BEST THING The Style Council
38 ( 68 ) SEVEN SEAS Echo And The Bunnymen
39 ( 49 ) SWEET SOMEBODY Shannon
40 ( 26 ) SO TIRED Ozzy Osbourne

41 ( 30 ) WHEN AM I GOING TO MAKE A LIVING Sade
42 ( 32 ) TO FRANCE Mike Oldfield and Maggie Reilly
43 ( NEW ) DOWN ON THE STREET Shakatak
44 ( 40 ) THE REFLEX Duran Duran
45 ( 46 ) LAMENT Ultravox
46 ( 41 ) LEAVE A TENDER MOMENT ALONE Billy Joel
47 ( 38 ) SAD SONGS (SAY SO MUCH) Elton John
48 ( 54 ) HOT HOT HOT Arrow
49 ( 36 ) ONE BETTER DAY Madness
50 ( 27 ) FAREWELL MY SUMMER LOVE Michael Jackson

51 ( 44 ) EACH AND EVERY ONE Everything But The Girl
52 ( 45 ) AUTOMATIC The Pointer Sisters
53 ( NEW ) YOU THINK YOU’RE A MAN Divine
54 ( 50 ) HIGH ENERGY Evelyn King
55 ( NEW ) I’M IN A DIFFERENT WORLD Dave Stewart and Barbara Gaskin
56 ( 56 ) BILLIE JEAN Michael Jackson
57 ( 55 ) WOOD BEEZ (PRAY LIKE ARETHA FRANKLIN) Scritti Politti
58 ( 47 ) THIN LINE BETWEEN LOVE AND HATE The Pretenders
59 ( 59 ) STEPPING OUT John Lennon
60 ( 57 ) DOCTOR MABUSE Propaganda

61 ( 42 ) LOVE ALL DAY Nick Heyward
62 ( 62 ) THE DAY BEFORE YOU CAME Abba
63 ( NEW ) 80’S ROMANCE The Belle Stars
64 ( 63 ) LET’S DANCE David Bowie
65 ( 51 ) I FEEL LIKE BUDDY HOLLY Alvin Stardust
66 ( 66 ) RADIO GA GA Queen
67 ( NEW ) THE DAY BEFORE YOU CAME Blancmange
68 ( NEW ) GET YOUR FEET OUT OF MY SHOES Boothill Foot Tappers
69 ( 58 ) LET’S HEAR IT FOR THE BOY Deniece Williams
70 ( NEW ) PINK HOUSES John Cougar Mellencamp

71 ( 53 ) PEARL IN THE SHELL Howard Jones
72 ( 43 ) THOSE FIRST IMPRESSIONS The Associates
73 ( 69 ) HAND IN GLOVE Sandie Shaw
74 ( NEW ) LEGS ZZ Top
75 ( 67 ) I WANT TO BREAK FREE Queen

TV
1 Star Trek: The Naked Time
2 Comic Strip Presents: War
3 The Addams Family
4 Hill Street Blues
5 Top Of The Pops
6 Casablanca: film
7 Batman
8 The Monkees
9 Soap
10 The Mary Tyler Moore Show
11 Tenko
12 Doctor Who (liver Birds guest)
13 Taxi
14 Automan
15 Upstairs Downstairs

4th July 1984

Back on top for Two Tribes, for a third week, while there’s a hole in my shoe at 4 and The Mighty Wah! get a second Top 10 hit a year and a half after hitting the top spot. The classic White Lines – so don’t do it! – finally breaks into the 10, and Divine positively rockets up to 20, proving if nothing else that a big bloke in a dress rasping over a manic bpm dance track is something to celebrate.

Shakatak smoothly glide to 22, a good jazzdance track, while Blancmange keep up their Top 40 run with that Abba cover at 29. Once again the highest new entry is a classic oldie – last week Beatles, this week Rolling Stones. It’s actually a chart debut though, as Brown Sugar was too naughty for Singapore radio in 1971 and it had taken 13 years to grow on me from occasional oldie listens. Talking about the most ridiculous haircut of all-time, A Flock Of Seagulls are back with a good track at 47, and Rod is back with a cover of Robert Palmer’s 1982 hit Some Guys Have All The Luck. Jeff Lynne and Dave Edmunds also keep up the 60’s veterans brigade with new singles.

So, Alien and Trek on top of TV viewing, I was raving about the latest Legion and Titans DC Comics, creatively hitting a peak that was matched commercially with big comic sales. At home, still not happy, a Vicar dropped by for a chat, newly esconced in brand new church, I think, looking for a new flock. I didn’t volunteer. The 15th anniversary of the Moon Landing TV shows casued me to reminisce on how much important stuff (to me) was happening in the Summer of ’69. Bryan Adams even wrote me a song about it! Honest!

By Monday I was getting seriously hypochondriac-al, worrying about symptoms that wouldn’t go away (and which I know now are stress-related), but tried youth club volunteering that evening to get me out, there were nearly as many helpers as kids, few facilities, and promised to come back Sept 3rd (summer break) after helping pack away and playing table football with kids. It didn’t give me an energy boost though, like the Mansfield Folkhouse did when I worked there, sadly.

Other things I tried to try and cheer myself up: Radio Luxembourg chart run-down; video arcade games in Bournemouth; went to cinema to see Supergirl movie (packed with kids on holiday being noisy): “..a good cast, all well OTT, mildly amusing, predictable, escapist fun, really. I’d go to see a sequel…” Hah! As if! Wishful thinking there. My College mate Paul rang and wanted to visit in August, which would have been brilliant for me – but the family announced they were all on holiday that week and would be back in the house then, so no room for Paul (felt awful telling him). None of them worked, though, increasingly depressed as the week went on. Oh dear!

1 ( 3 ) TWO TRIBES Frankie Goes To Hollywood
2 ( 1 ) EYES WITHOUT A FACE Billy Idol
3 ( 2 ) WHEN DOVES CRY Prince
4 ( 12 ) HOLE IN MY SHOE neil
5 ( 7 ) LOVE RESURRECTION Alison Moyet
6 ( 6 ) YOUNG AT HEART The Bluebells
7 ( 22 ) COME BACK The Mighty Wah!
8 ( 8 ) BREAKIN’…THERE’S NO STOPPIN’ US Ollie and Jerry
9 ( 5 ) JUMP (FOR MY LOVE) The Pointer Sisters
10 ( 13 ) WHITE LINES (DON’T DON’T DO IT) Grandmaster Flash And Melle Mel

11 ( 11 ) WAITING IN VAIN Bob Marley And The Wailers
12 ( 4 ) LIFE ON YOUR OWN Human League
13 ( 20 ) A HARD DAY’S NIGHT The Beatles
14 ( 9 ) WHAT’S LOVE GOT TO DO WITH IT Tina Turner
15 ( 15 ) I WON’T LET THE SUN GO DOWN ON ME Nik Kershaw
16 ( 19 ) STATE OF SHOCK The Jacksons featuring Mick Jagger
17 ( 29 ) CLOSEST THING TO HEAVEN The Kane Gang
18 ( 25 ) SELF CONTROL Laura Branigan
19 ( 14 ) TALKING LOUD AND CLEAR OMD
20 ( 53 ) YOU THINK YOU’RE A MAN Divine

21 ( 21 ) TIME AFTER TIME Cyndi Lauper
22 ( 43 ) DOWN ON THE STREET Shakatak
23 ( 33 ) EVERYBODY’S LAUGHING Phil Fearon and Galaxy
24 ( 10 ) ABSOLUTE Scritti Politti
25 ( 18 ) RELAX Frankie Goes To Hollywood
26 ( 32 ) SISTER OF MERCY The Thompson Twins
27 ( 27 ) STUCK ON YOU Lionel Richie
28 ( 17 ) I WANNA BE LOVED Elvis Costello
29 ( 67 ) THE DAY BEFORE YOU CAME Blancmange
30 ( 16 ) DANCE ME UP Gary Glitter

31 ( 24 ) THINKING OF YOU Sister Sledge
32 ( 26 ) SMALLTOWN BOY Bronski Beat
33 ( 39 ) SWEET SOMEBODY Shannon
34 ( 38 ) SEVEN SEAS Echo And The Bunnymen
35 ( 35 ) LOVE SONGS ARE BACK AGAIN Band Of Gold
36 ( 45 ) LAMENT Ultravox
37 ( 23 ) BOYS DO FALL IN LOVE Robin Gibb
38 ( 28 ) PERFECT SKIN Lloyd Cole And The Commotions
39 ( NEW ) BROWN SUGAR The Rolling Stones
40 ( 59 ) STEPPING OUT John Lennon

41 ( 31 ) HEAVEN KNOWS I’M MISERABLE NOW The Smiths
42 ( 30 ) CHANGE OF HEART Change
43 ( 36 ) THE LEBANON Human League
44 ( 34 ) INFATUATION Rod Stewart
45 ( 37 ) YOU’RE THE BEST THING The Style Council
46 ( 48 ) HOT HOT HOT Arrow
47 ( NEW ) THE MORE YOU LIVE THE MORE YOU LOVE A Flock Of Seagulls
48 ( 41 ) WHEN AM I GOING TO MAKE A LIVING Sade
49 ( 44 ) THE REFLEX Duran Duran
50 ( NEW ) TOSSING AND TURNING Windjammer

51 ( 42 ) TO FRANCE Mike Oldfield and Maggie Reilly
52 ( 40 ) SO TIRED Ozzy Osbourne
53 ( 55 ) I’M IN A DIFFERENT WORLD Dave Stewart and Barbara Gaskin
54 ( 47 ) SAD SONGS (SAY SO MUCH) Elton John
55 ( 70 ) PINK HOUSES John Cougar Mellencamp
56 ( 56 ) BILLIE JEAN Michael Jackson
57 ( 50 ) FAREWELL MY SUMMER LOVE Michael Jackson
58 ( 49 ) ONE BETTER DAY Madness
59 ( 57 ) WOOD BEEZ (PRAY LIKE ARETHA FRANKLIN) Scritti Politti
60 ( NEW ) SOME GUYS HAVE ALL THE LUCK Rod Stewart

61 ( 62 ) THE DAY BEFORE YOU CAME Abba
62 ( 46 ) LEAVE A TENDER MOMENT ALONE Billy Joel
63 ( 52 ) AUTOMATIC The Pointer Sisters
64 ( 51 ) EACH AND EVERY ONE Everything But The Girl
65 ( 64 ) LET’S DANCE David Bowie
66 ( NEW ) VIDEO Jeff Lynne
67 ( 63 ) 80’S ROMANCE The Belle Stars
68 ( 60 ) DOCTOR MABUSE Propaganda
69 ( 66 ) RADIO GA GA Queen
70 ( NEW ) ON THE WINGS OF LOVE Jeffrey Osbourne

71 ( 68 ) GET YOUR FEET OUT OF MY SHOES Boothill Foot Tappers
72 ( NEW ) MY MALE CURIOSITY Kid Creole And The Coconuts
73 ( 54 ) HIGH ENERGY Evelyn King
74 ( NEW ) SOMETHING ABOUT YOU BABY Dave Edmunds
75 ( 65 ) I FEEL LIKE BUDDY HOLLY Alvin Stardust

TV
1 Alien: film
1 Star Trek: The Enemy Within
3 Hill Street Blues
4 Rhoda
5 Mary Tyler Moore Show
6 Soap
7 Tenko
8 Monkees
9 Top Of The Pops
10 Addams Family

31st July 1984

4 weeks for Frankie as they were heading for 9 on top of the UK singles chart, and The Beatles keep those reissued Top 10 hits coming as A Hard Day’s Night hits 6. Shakatak are down in the streets but up in the charts, at 10, and everybody might be laughing at Phil Fearon, but he’s at 12 in the charts that count so he has the last laugh. Windjammer sail up to 22, with a track I’ve utterly forgotten – I’m guessing that’s not a good sign! Hazell Dean gets a second hit, though, with the even better Whatever I Do, and the sound of Stock Aitken Waterman has 2 in the 30 (Divine, t’other one, I think). Better get used to multiple entries in the singles chart, eh lads?

Queen get a third Top 40 hit of 1984, Rod gets a 2nd one, and Dave Edmunds has a welcome (floptastic) Top 40 hit yet again in my charts. I’m so loyal! Arrow finally prove it’s Hot Hot Hot at 40, as a major classic enters at 42. My sis-in-law Sue, then 24, loved George Michael, and Careless Whisper especially, and the new mature pop sound was a big surprise (especially after all the furore over his video expensive haircut obsession), but as we now know a huge hit and the start of a new solo career (eventually). I can’t listen to it these days, not since it was played at Sue’s funeral.

On TV sci-fi miniseries V started, but just as the Lionel Richie record falls dramatically because it reminded me of feeling ill, so this series has the same effect since the scene of the rodent-swallowing. By now I felt like I was on the verge of bursting into tears all the time, something I’d not done for a decade or so. Mum & dad knew something was up, I wasn’t eating properly, but I couldn’t explain it to them. Or to the doctor. So I stayed on camp for a few days with everyone so they could keep an eye on me. I hope this has a happy ending!

1 ( 1 ) TWO TRIBES Frankie Goes To Hollywood
2 ( 2 ) EYES WITHOUT A FACE Billy Idol
3 ( 4 ) HOLE IN MY SHOE neil
4 ( 3 ) WHEN DOVES CRY Prince
5 ( 6 ) YOUNG AT HEART The Bluebells
6 ( 13 ) A HARD DAY’S NIGHT The Beatles
7 ( 7 ) COME BACK The Mighty Wah!
8 ( 10 ) WHITE LINES (DON’T DON’T DO IT) Grandmaster Flash And Melle Mel
9 ( 8 ) BREAKIN’…THERE’S NO STOPPIN’ US Ollie and Jerry
10 ( 22 ) DOWN ON THE STREET Shakatak

11 ( 5 ) LOVE RESURRECTION Alison Moyet
12 ( 23 ) EVERYBODY’S LAUGHING Phil Fearon and Galaxy
13 ( 17 ) CLOSEST THING TO HEAVEN The Kane Gang
14 ( 18 ) SELF CONTROL Laura Branigan
15 ( 9 ) JUMP (FOR MY LOVE) The Pointer Sisters
16 ( 12 ) LIFE ON YOUR OWN Human League
17 ( 11 ) WAITING IN VAIN Bob Marley And The Wailers
18 ( 14 ) WHAT’S LOVE GOT TO DO WITH IT Tina Turner
19 ( 29 ) THE DAY BEFORE YOU CAME Blancmange
20 ( 20 ) YOU THINK YOU’RE A MAN Divine

21 ( 15 ) I WON’T LET THE SUN GO DOWN ON ME Nik Kershaw
22 ( 50 ) TOSSING AND TURNING Windjammer
23 ( 21 ) TIME AFTER TIME Cyndi Lauper
24 ( 19 ) TALKING LOUD AND CLEAR OMD
25 ( NEW ) WHATEVER I DO (WHEREVER I GO) Hazell Dean
26 ( 16 ) STATE OF SHOCK The Jacksons featuring Mick Jagger
27 ( 35 ) LOVE SONGS ARE BACK AGAIN Band Of Gold
28 ( 34 ) SEVEN SEAS Echo And The Bunnymen
29 ( 33 ) SWEET SOMEBODY Shannon
30 ( 40 ) STEPPING OUT John Lennon

31 ( 25 ) RELAX Frankie Goes To Hollywood
32 ( NEW ) IT’S A HARD LIFE Queen
33 ( 31 ) THINKING OF YOU Sister Sledge
34 ( 28 ) I WANNA BE LOVED Elvis Costello
35 ( 32 ) SMALLTOWN BOY Bronski Beat
36 ( 26 ) SISTER OF MERCY The Thompson Twins
37 ( 60 ) SOME GUYS HAVE ALL THE LUCK Rod Stewart
38 ( 74 ) SOMETHING ABOUT YOU BABY Dave Edmunds
39 ( 39 ) BROWN SUGAR The Rolling Stones
40 ( 46 ) HOT HOT HOT Arrow

41 ( 24 ) ABSOLUTE Scritti Politti
42 ( NEW ) CARELESS WHISPER George Michael
43 ( 36 ) LAMENT Ultravox
44 ( 30 ) DANCE ME UP Gary Glitter
45 ( 37 ) BOYS DO FALL IN LOVE Robin Gibb
46 ( 47 ) THE MORE YOU LIVE THE MORE YOU LOVE A Flock Of Seagulls
47 ( NEW ) SUNGLASSES Tracey Ullman
48 ( 38 ) PERFECT SKIN Lloyd Cole And The Commotions
49 ( 43 ) THE LEBANON Human League
50 ( 44 ) INFATUATION Rod Stewart

51 ( 66 ) VIDEO Jeff Lynne
52 ( 27 ) STUCK ON YOU Lionel Richie
53 ( 41 ) HEAVEN KNOWS I’M MISERABLE NOW The Smiths
54 ( NEW ) HAND ON MY HEART Shriekback
55 ( 45 ) YOU’RE THE BEST THING The Style Council
56 ( 72 ) MY MALE CURIOSITY Kid Creole And The Coconuts
57 ( 56 ) BILLIE JEAN Michael Jackson
58 ( 58 ) ONE BETTER DAY Madness
59 ( 48 ) WHEN AM I GOING TO MAKE A LIVING Sade
60 ( 70 ) ON THE WINGS OF LOVE Jeffrey Osbourne

61 ( 49 ) THE REFLEX Duran Duran
62 ( 61 ) THE DAY BEFORE YOU CAME Abba
63 ( NEW ) WHOSE SIDE ARE YOU ONE Matt Bianco
64 ( 59 ) WOOD BEEZ (PRAY LIKE ARETHA FRANKLIN) Scritti Politti
65 ( NEW ) STATE OF INDEPENDANCE Jon And Vangelis
66 ( NEW ) THERE ARE MORE SNAKES THAN LADDERS Captain Sensible
67 ( 65 ) LET’S DANCE David Bowie
68 ( 51 ) TO FRANCE Mike Oldfield and Maggie Reilly
69 ( 42 ) CHANGE OF HEART Change
70 ( 69 ) RADIO GA GA Queen

71 ( 68 ) DOCTOR MABUSE Propaganda
72 ( 63 ) AUTOMATIC The Pointer Sisters
73 ( NEW ) COULDN’T STAND A DAY Re-Flex
74 ( 54 ) SAD SONGS (SAY SO MUCH) Elton John
75 ( NEW ) BE THANKFUL FOR WHAT YOU’VE GOT Sunset Gun

TV
1 Star Trek: Mudd’s Women
2 Cheers
3 Mary Tyler Moore Show
4 Rhoda
5 Soap
6 Addams Family
7 Hi De Hi
8 V
9 Top Of The Pops
10 Tenko

Leave a Reply

