My 1969 Charts – August

AUG 1969

On TV, it was the changing of the guard for me – Patrick Troughton’s final episodes bringing to an end the domination of Doctor Who in my affections, because by now a brand new American Science-fiction TV show had debuted in the UK. It was called Star Trek, and it blew my fecking mind. I became obsessed by the show immediately, but the shocking thing is to realise that the number of episodes I saw were very minimal, but oh they left a strong impact on me! The biggest was the first broadcast, Where No Man Has Gone Before, with Kirk, Spock and 2 characters who died, but I loved them both! MASH’s Sally Kellerman and 2001’s Gary Lockwood had telekinetic powers and telepathic powers like my beloved Saturn Girl from my beloved Legion Of Super-Heroes. Their eyes glowed and it was SO cool. And tragic that they died! I’m convinced I also saw the Jeffrey Hunter episodes too, but regardless, one of my first major disappointments on getting to Singapore was Star Trek was not broadcast. I’d have to make do with books for the next 2 years! Doh!

On the plus side, I got to see the Patrick Troughton Doctor Who episodes all over again cos they WERE being broadcast in Singapore. Hooray! It was just frustrating that I never got to see the final episode till the 80’s, cos just as they were getting near it in Singapore, we were leaving! Doh! These things mattered to me! Home: the house was emptied of our stuff, leaving only the RAF furniture and dishes etc all ready for inspection on leaving (everything had to be spick and span or you got charged for the cleaning), cases were being packed, I was saying sad goodbyes to friends, especially Ann Barber my friend from over the road, who looked so sad I was going. I felt sad, for her and for me. The cat and kittens were dropped off with my grandma in Liverpool, mum’s mum who wasn’t looking forward to us going away at all, and I’m fairly sure around this time Aunty Eileen and Uncle Tony got married in Mansfield, so that was a big family do and get together for the last time in 2 years, and some sad goodbyes to mum and dad’s elderly relatives, cos 2 years was a long time.

That’s a lot of goodbyes for 11 years old! Then, in the last week of August, the start of the adventure began: we saw the Flying Scotsman at Newark. We went to London and stayed with some RAF friends – The Deebanks – who had been posted from Swinderby, me and my brother had to share the bunkbeds with the younger kids. Then we went to Swindon, and dropped by the Railway Museum, which made an impact on my younger brother more than me, because I was already in 7th Heaven: we’d gone by a newsagent, an old corner shop affair, and they had a rack of American Comics. I pestered dad because I absolutely HAD to have a Legion Of Super Heroes comic they had, Adventure Comics 373, The Tornado Twins, and it was goooorgeous looking. I got it! I still have it! As bonus, dad also bought some Giant bumper DC comics, Supergirl (which had the Legion!), Superman, and some black and white 50’s pulp sci-fi comic reprints. I wasn’t allowed to read any of them, though, they were for the aeroplane. It was 31st August, we stopped over night at RAF Brize Norton and tomorrow was a very new day….

TBC

5th August 1969

Music: 2 weeks for Thunderclap Newman on top, and Joe Dolan almost gets to the top, chased by 2 of my fave girl singers of the moment, Clodagh and Cilla. The Love Affair go top 10, as the similarly-sounding Vanity Fayre enter at 17 with the melodic and catchy Early In The Morning, a tune I loved. Like all of the new records from here-on, my access to new records was limited, and very much cut short, it was like going into withdrawal as I loved them and couldn’t get to hear them in September and beyond, for the most part. That goes in spades for the record at 19, Zager And Evans, the utimate one-hit wonders, with the very futuristic sci-fi social commentary song In The Year 2525. Not to mention folkies Fairport Convention’s version (en Francais) of Dylan’s If You Gotta Go Go Now, Si Tu Dois Partir. As I’d been doing French at school over the last year, it was fun working out some of the words….

1 ( 1 ) SOMETHING IN THE AIR Thunderclap Newman
2 ( 4 ) MAKE ME AN ISLAND Joe Dolan
3 ( 3 ) IN THE GHETTO Elvis Presley
4 ( 12 ) GOODNIGHT MIDNIGHT Clodagh Rodgers
5 ( 16 ) CONVERSATIONS Cilla Black
6 ( 2 ) GIVE PEACE A CHANCE Plastic Ono Band
7 ( 10 ) SAVED BY THE BELL Robin Gibb
8 ( 6 ) HELLO SUSIE Amen Corner
9 ( 17 ) BRINGING ON BACK THE GOOD TIMES The Love Affair
10 ( 5 ) HONKY TONK WOMEN The Rolling Stones

11 ( 7 ) BREAKAWAY The Beach Boys
12 ( 8 ) IT MEK Desmond Dekker
13 ( 9 ) THAT’S THE WAY GOD PLANNED IT Billy Preston
14 ( 11 ) WAY OF LIFE The Family Dogg
15 ( 19 ) MY CHERIE AMOUR Stevie Wonder
16 ( 20 ) TOMORROW TOMORROW The Bee Gees
17 ( NEW ) EARLY IN THE MORNING Vanity Fayre
18 ( 14 ) BABY MAKE IT SOON Marmalade
19 ( NEW ) IN THE YEAR 2525 Zager And Evans
20 ( NEW ) SI TU DOIS PARTIR Fairport Convention

12th Aug 1969

Elvis is back up on top! Well, it is great! Vanity Fayre and Stevie Wonder’s gorgeous My Cherie Amour (keeping up the French-language theme) both go Top 10, Donovan pops back in, and Marvin Gaye enters with Too Busy Thinking Bout My Baby, a song which meant much more to me in a cover version in the early 70’s.

1 ( 3 ) IN THE GHETTO Elvis Presley
2 ( 2 ) MAKE ME AN ISLAND Joe Dolan
3 ( 1 ) SOMETHING IN THE AIR Thunderclap Newman
4 ( 7 ) SAVED BY THE BELL Robin Gibb
5 ( 4 ) GOODNIGHT MIDNIGHT Clodagh Rodgers
6 ( 5 ) CONVERSATIONS Cilla Black
7 ( 6 ) GIVE PEACE A CHANCE Plastic Ono Band
8 ( 17 ) EARLY IN THE MORNING Vanity Fayre
9 ( 8 ) HELLO SUSIE Amen Corner
10 ( 15 ) MY CHERIE AMOUR Stevie Wonder

11 ( 20 ) SI TU DOIS PARTIR Fairport Convention
12 ( 9 ) BRINGING ON BACK THE GOOD TIMES The Love Affair
13 ( 10 ) HONKY TONK WOMEN The Rolling Stones
14 ( 19 ) IN THE YEAR 2525 Zager And Evans
15 ( 12 ) IT MEK Desmond Dekker
16 ( 14 ) WAY OF LIFE The Family Dogg
17 ( 13 ) THAT’S THE WAY GOD PLANNED IT Billy Preston
18 ( 18 ) BABY MAKE IT SOON Marmalade
19 ( RE ) BARABAJAGAL Donovan and The Jeff Beck Group
20 ( NEW ) TOO BUSY THINKING BOUT MY BABY Marvin Gaye

19th Aug 1969

4 weeks for Elvis at 1, and only one new entry, snuggling up to Robin Gibb at 6…are his brothers, The Bee Gees lovely country song Don’t Forget To Remember. I still preferred Robin’s Saved By The Bell, but only just! This was my last official chart of the 60’s, as I had no access to new UK music (though I got to follow the Top 30 in Daily Mirror bumper packages delivered as a mega-book to the Forces, they were songs and titles tempting me, but out of reach).

1 ( 1 ) IN THE GHETTO Elvis Presley
2 ( 3 ) SOMETHING IN THE AIR Thunderclap Newman
3 ( 11 ) SI TU DOIS PARTIR Fairport Convention
4 ( 8 ) EARLY IN THE MORNING Vanity Fayre
5 ( 4 ) SAVED BY THE BELL Robin Gibb
6 ( NEW ) DON’T FORGET TO REMEMBER The Bee Gees
7 ( 14 ) IN THE YEAR 2525 Zager And Evans
8 ( 2 ) MAKE ME AN ISLAND Joe Dolan
9 ( 10 ) MY CHERIE AMOUR Stevie Wonder
10 ( 9 ) HELLO SUSIE Amen Corner

11 ( 7 ) GIVE PEACE A CHANCE Plastic Ono Band
12 ( 6 ) CONVERSATIONS Cilla Black
13 ( 5 ) GOODNIGHT MIDNIGHT Clodagh Rodgers
14 ( 15 ) IT MEK Desmond Dekker
15 ( 12 ) BRINGING ON BACK THE GOOD TIMES The Love Affair
16 ( 17 ) THAT’S THE WAY GOD PLANNED IT Billy Preston
17 ( 13 ) HONKY TONK WOMEN The Rolling Stones
18 ( 20 ) TOO BUSY THINKING BOUT MY BABY Marvin Gaye
19 ( 18 ) BABY MAKE IT SOON Marmalade
20 ( 19 ) BARABAJAGAL Donovan and The Jeff Beck Group

26th Aug 1969

And my last chart in the UK for 2 years has my record of the moment on top, the epic In The Year 2525. This was the first record I intended to buy with the 10 shillings my great grandparents had given me (now Singapore dollars) but it wasn’t available so I had only the memory of my love for it bar the occasional play on 2-way family favourites Forces radio show. Aaaagh! I still love it though. Robin Gibb, at 2, my mum bought though a few weeks later, and I still love that one.

The Equals, future hit-maker Eddy Grant, have a big new entry with Viva Bobby Joe, which I loved, and a host of other great singles, Bad Moon Rising (which I would get to hear again, and find the lyrics hand-written to, inside a Just William library book at my new school. Don’t remember the book, very much recall finding the lyrics. I had my priorities right, even then!) was Creedence Clearwater Revival’s 2nd hit, Engelbert was back again, and The Dells had a heavy version of 2 very MOR songs – Cilla and others had sung I Can Sing A Rainbow, and Eurovision’s Love Is Blue (Vicky Leandros) had become a standard within 2 years thanks to the instrumental hit version by Paul Mauriat. A tune I’d learnt to play on my melodica. Melodica’s were all the rage, a sort of mouth-organ-piano-synth, and girls in particular had them. If only I’d hung onto it I might have become the first world-famous melodican pop star. Hey ho!

Tommy Roe, my hero, managed to get a new record out just as I left the country, I don’t think I heard it more than once or twice, but I really liked the tune anyway, and enters here at 17, just behind a song I really WAS mad on, that glibby glib gloopy hook was heaven on earth to me, I loved the ticking, the crystal-clear instruments and Oliver’s fab vocals. I didn’t even know Good Morning Starshine was from Hair, I suspect, following on from previous chart biggies Nina Simone and Fifth Dimension. I played the tune over and over in my head for weeks so I wouldn’t forget it, till I could get to hear it again. I can’t describe how pleasurable it is getting to hear a song you love again after you’ve been deprived of it for years. Fab! And that, as they say, is the end of the UK music scene, as I entered a cut-down family-friendly version of it on the 1st September…

TBC

1 ( 7 ) IN THE YEAR 2525 Zager And Evans
2 ( 5 ) SAVED BY THE BELL Robin Gibb
3 ( 4 ) EARLY IN THE MORNING Vanity Fayre
4 ( 1 ) IN THE GHETTO Elvis Presley
5 ( 6 ) DON’T FORGET TO REMEMBER The Bee Gees
6 ( 9 ) MY CHERIE AMOUR Stevie Wonder
7 ( NEW ) VIVA BOBBY JOE The Equals
8 ( 8 ) MAKE ME AN ISLAND Joe Dolan
9 ( 3 ) SI TU DOIS PARTIR Fairport Convention
10 ( 12 ) CONVERSATIONS Cilla Black

11 ( 13 ) GOODNIGHT MIDNIGHT Clodagh Rodgers
12 ( 17 ) HONKY TONK WOMEN The Rolling Stones
13 ( 11 ) GIVE PEACE A CHANCE Plastic Ono Band
14 ( NEW ) BAD MOON RISING Creedence Clearwater Revival
15 ( 15 ) BRINGING ON BACK THE GOOD TIMES The Love Affair
16 ( NEW ) GOOD MORNING STARSHINE Oliver
17 ( NEW ) HEATHER HONEY Tommy Roe
18 ( NEW ) I’M A BETTER MAN Engelbert Humperdinck
19 ( NEW ) I CAN SING A RAINBOW/LOVE IS BLUE The Dells
20 ( 18 ) TOO BUSY THINKING BOUT MY BABY Marvin Gaye

Leave a Reply

