My 1975 Charts – January

Gloucester - nice bit

Gloucester – nice bit

click for ’75 video links and a repeat of this info…


7th January 1975

It’s a return to the top for Gloria Gaynor for a 2nd week at 1 presiding over my new expanded top 50 chart, and who really never can say goodbye! Quite right too! Billy Swan can still help, and he rises to 6 in gratitude, as Stevie Wonder gets his 9th Top 10 in 6 years with Boogie On Reggae Woman, but still yet to top the chart. Booooo! Angie Baby also joins the top batch for Helen Reddy, no longer declaring I Am Woman – well not just at the moment anyway. Christmas records still hang around, let’s be honest it was a novelty for me (and unheard of for the UK charts in those years) to swamp my chart with seasonal pop classics new and old. I invented it, so I’m going to sing my own praises and hang onto them well into the new year, so there!

With the lack of new releases there’s a lovely gap in the market for Fox to come back with a bang at 17, Only You Can having yo-yo’d around my charts wildly for months, and now starting to get BBC airplay and sales. Lulu also shoots back up to 16 with her James Bond theme, much under-rated in the real world, but that benefitted me as I got the vinyl single in a bargain bin for 15p or so and it got a big boost out of me actually being able to hear it whenever I wanted to, in all of it’s widescreen wonder. I almost certainly got in from my shopping mall indie fave record store, who kept me supplied with chart hits and non-charts in Gloucester for 2 years.

Harry Chapin’s brilliant Cats In The Cradle also boosts up to 19, as John Holt pops up a few reggae places, ahead of the highest new entry for Pilot, and their oh-so appropriate January, 3rd chart hit for me for them, and the big one that went all the way to top the UK charts. I still loved Just A Smile more, at the time, though, and under-appreciated just how great the single (still) is. I love it. In at 42, also having his 3rd solo hit, it’s Terry Jacks, no longer having seasons in the sun, no now he’s covering Australian vocalist Kevin Johnson’s fantastic flop story song about failed ambition, lost dreams, and love. Not a bad version, as it happens, but not a hit – though it was the spur for Jonathan King to re-release it on his own UK Records, and he got the hit he deserved! yay! Sometimes there is justice. JK was actually good at making great oldies hits after flopping in the UK, one of the reasons I was a fan of his.

At 43 Dana finally gets a 2nd hit, 5 years after All Kinds Of Everything winged it’s way around the world to near the top of my charts in Singapore in 1970. Please tell him that I said Hello. If you insist, though it’s lost a bit of it’s charm for me these days, as has Dana. At 44, following Alan Price’s comeback in 1974, his former singing partner Georgie Fame gets his first chart entry in 3 years, and his first solo hit for 6 years (Peaceful). Georgie was another 60’s fave though and would certainly have topped my chart with The Ballad Of Bonnie And Clyde, and come close with the absolutely gorgeous Sitting In The Park, not to mention a little bit of action from his cover of Sunny, Yeh Yeh and Get Away. Sadly his easy-pop-jazz style didn’t become popular again until 1984, so his Muhammed Ali shuffle song didn’t chart.

1 ( 2 ) NEVER CAN SAY GOODBYE Gloria Gaynor
2 ( 3 ) GET DANCIN’ Disco Tex and The Sex-o-lettes
3 ( 5 ) HAPPY XMAS (WAR IS OVER) John & Yoko and The Plastic Ono Band with The Harlem Community Choir
4 ( 4 ) YOU AIN’T SEEN NOTHIN’ YET Bachman-Turner Overdrive
5 ( 1 ) JE T’AIME…MOI NON PLUS Jane Birkin and Serge Gainsbourg
6 ( 10 ) I CAN HELP Billy Swan
7 ( 18 ) BOOGIE ON REGGAE WOMAN Stevie Wonder
8 ( 8 ) LOVE IS ALL Roger Glover and Guests (featuring Ronnie Dio)
9 ( 9 ) STARDUST David Essex
10 ( 16 ) ANGIE BABY Helen Reddy

11 ( 7 ) SO LONG Abba
12 ( 12 ) I WISH IT COULD BE CHRISTMAS EVERYDAY Wizzard
13 ( 14 ) ARE YOU READY TO ROCK Wizzard
14 ( 13 ) HEY MR CHRISTMAS Showaddywaddy
15 ( 11 ) WOMBLING MERRY CHRISTMAS The Wombles
16 ( 46 ) THE MAN WITH THE GOLDEN GUN Lulu
17 ( RE ) ONLY YOU CAN Fox
18 ( 17 ) SOUND YOUR FUNKY HORN KC And The Sunshine Band
19 ( 40 ) CATS IN THE CRADLE Harry Chapin
20 ( 6 ) DING DONG George Harrison

21 ( 22 ) DOWN DOWN Status Quo
22 ( 15 ) YOU CAN MAKE ME DANCE SING OR ANYTHING (EVEN TAKE THE DOG FOR A WALK MEND A FUSE FOLD AWAY THE IRONING BOARD OR ANY OTHER DOMESTIC SHORTCOMINGS) The Faces featuring Rod Stewart
23 ( 19 ) I HEARD IT THROUGH THE GRAPEVINE Marvin Gaye
24 ( 20 ) THE INBETWEENIES The Goodies
25 ( 29 ) LIFE OF THE PARTY The Jackson 5
26 ( 26 ) CANDY BABY Beano
27 ( 39 ) HELP ME MAKE IT THROUGH THE NIGHT John Holt
28 ( 31 ) LUCY IN THE SKY WITH DIAMONDS Elton John
29 ( 23 ) HOLD ME TIGHT Johnny Nash
30 ( 30 ) IRE FEELINGS (SKANGA) Rupie Edwards

31 ( 35 ) LONELY THIS CHRISTMAS Mud
32 ( 24 ) MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYBODY Slade
33 ( 37 ) GET DANCIN’ PART 2 Disco Tex and The Sex-o-lettes
34 ( NEW ) JANUARY Pilot
35 ( 38 ) CRYING OVER YOU Ken Boothe
36 ( 25 ) SLEIGH RIDE The Ronettes
37 ( 21 ) FATHER CHRISTMAS DO NOT TOUCH ME The Goodies
38 ( 33 ) JUKEBOX JIVE The Rubettes
39 ( 34 ) OH YES YOU’RE BEAUTIFUL Gary Glitter
40 ( 27 ) CHRISTMAS SONG Gilbert O’Sullivan

41 ( 32 ) YOU CAN HAVE IT ALL George McRae
42 ( NEW ) ROCK ‘N’ ROLL (I GAVE YOU THE BEST YEARS OF MY LIFE) Terry Jacks
43 ( NEW ) PLEASE TELL HIM THAT I SAID HELLO Dana
44 ( NEW ) ALI SHUFFLE Georgie Fame
45 ( 42 ) THE BUMP Kenny
46 ( 36 ) EVERYBODY NEEDS A RAINBOW Ray Stevens
47 ( 28 ) CHRISTMAS (BABY PLEASE COME HOME) Darlene Love
48 ( 44 ) MY BOY Elvis Presley
49 ( 48 ) SHA LA LA LA (MAKES ME HAPPY) Al Green
50 ( 43 ) PLEASE MR POSTMAN The Carpenters

Talking of Gloucester it was just named the city (urban area, actually) at the bottom of the job creation league over the last decade (minus 12%) which on the one hand is very sad, cos I really loved Gloucester back in 1975, but on the other hand it also brings nostalgic tears to me eyes because so little has changed in 40 years I can streetview my way round the virtual roads in the area and I’m back in time. I guess that’s the problem for Gloucester – most other towns and cities of that period have changed quite a lot to create new jobs. I think I’ll go back and have a tour soon for old times sake, I know Innsworth (home) and Churchdown (school) still look much the same, and for ol farts like me that’s somehow reassuring. Hooray! Maybe they need to market it as a period-piece untouched by the 21st century and push the Roman ruins and so on.

In the world, Charlie Chaplin and Roger Bannister were knighted, I turned 17 and started to collect facial acne. Well, it’s a hobby. The flares on my “good morning judge” tight trousers (it was the fashion!) got so big they regularly got caught up in the platform shoes as I walked, and my hair got longer as teachers were much less inclined to wag the finger at 6th form students – they needed you to stay as opposed to shove off to technical college or the various local trainee programmes in local industry. Yes, it’s true, young people got training! Vocational!! You could opt for practical-based college courses!!! Media courses, HR courses, PR courses, Consultants, all these things were non-existent outside London. Yay! Actually media studies is very useful, I’m just jealous it didn’t exist for me when I left school….

On TV this week: Doctor Who (Robot), Lulu had her own show (with The Shadows singing one of their A Song For Europe candidates), Mission: Impossible with Peter Lupus fresh from his Playgirl centrefold, a first for a male (minor) celebrity actor pretty much, bar Burt Reynolds modest more-famous pose. For my birthday, still on holiday, the BBC kindly broadcast (just for me!) The Monkees, Star Trek: The Trouble With Tribbles, Crackerjack with Donny & Marie and The Rubettes, Cannon with a young David Soul, and a great old movie (now forgotten) Kiss Me Stupid, with Ray Walston, Dean Martin and Kim Novak starring in the great Billy Wilder comedy/ piss-take of the egotistical megastar. It needs to get another showing!


14th January 1975

The first new number one of 1975, and it’s Fox – Only You Can had taken months to get there, but get there it did. Australian Noosha Fox was quirkily unique, and engaging, I loved her singing style (as did a young clearly-influenced Kate Bush), and the band was largely the creation of producer/songwriter/leader Kenny Young. He wrote Under The Boardwalk, Ai No Corrida, Captain Of Your Ship, Clodagh Rodgers hit stuff, and in the future, was behind Yellow Dog. Lulu meanwhile gets her 4th Top 5 hit, since I’m A Tiger in 1968. Cats In The Cradle makes my top 10, almost 20 years ahead of the UK charts inferior Ugly Kid Joe version.

Highest new entry is Dave Jordan. Street Corner Music was a great pop single, very catchy, pushed by Radio Luxembourg but not pushed enough as it headed for obscurity within weeks. I’ve no idea who Dave Jordan is, but I bought the single and have liked it ever since. My copy may well be the only decent one left in existence judging by the only online presence I’ve found! Quo finally get into the 20 Down Down still going up up, Sparks album-track 1974 top 20 hit in my charts is finally released and returns at 17, Something For The Girl With Everything, and Sweet Sensation follow-up the fab Sad Sweet Dreamer with the soundalike Purely By Coincidence at 21. It’s still very nice regardless.

After Bryan Ferry started re-doing vintage old songs, it became a bit of a minor rage, and here’s another one, 1934 Jerome Kern song I Won’t Dance covered by many a famous name, and at least one osbcure one: John Henry did it Noel Coward stylee in much the same fashion as Gary Shearston did I Get A Kick Out Of You in 1974, and was rewarded with obscurity and a number 22 entry in my chart. I like it still anyway, and as there’s no online version I probably ought to make the effort one day myself (I bought it). There’s another by a duo, Philip and Vanessa cover Two Sleepy People, though as this one had Radio 2 and Top Of The Pops behind it, this cover of the 1938 Hoagy Carmichael song was slightly more successful. Again, covered by hordes of famous singers, recently by Seth MacFarlane (Family Guy and others) of all people (with Norah Jones who popped up in his great movie Ted)! This very MOR version was OK, I bought the album bargain bin for the single. Finally Fly Now, is the good follow-up to Pinball from Brian Protheroe at 46. I have yet to get a copy of this – let me check itunes…I’m back, no chance, of course.

1 ( 17 ) ONLY YOU CAN Fox
2 ( 1 ) NEVER CAN SAY GOODBYE Gloria Gaynor
3 ( 2 ) GET DANCIN’ Disco Tex and The Sex-o-lettes
4 ( 16 ) THE MAN WITH THE GOLDEN GUN Lulu
5 ( 4 ) YOU AIN’T SEEN NOTHIN’ YET Bachman-Turner Overdrive
6 ( 3 ) HAPPY XMAS (WAR IS OVER) John & Yoko and The Plastic Ono Band with The Harlem Community Choir
7 ( 19 ) CATS IN THE CRADLE Harry Chapin
8 ( 10 ) ANGIE BABY Helen Reddy
9 ( 8 ) LOVE IS ALL Roger Glover and Guests (featuring Ronnie Dio)
10 ( 9 ) STARDUST David Essex

11 ( 5 ) JE T’AIME…MOI NON PLUS Jane Birkin and Serge Gainsbourg
12 ( NEW ) STREET CORNER MUSIC Dave Jordan
13 ( 6 ) I CAN HELP Billy Swan
14 ( 7 ) BOOGIE ON REGGAE WOMAN Stevie Wonder
15 ( 11 ) SO LONG Abba
16 ( 21 ) DOWN DOWN Status Quo
17 ( RE ) SOMETHING FOR THE GIRL WITH EVERYTHING Sparks
18 ( 35 ) CRYING OVER YOU Ken Boothe
19 ( 27 ) HELP ME MAKE IT THROUGH THE NIGHT John Holt
20 ( 12 ) I WISH IT COULD BE CHRISTMAS EVERYDAY Wizzard

21 ( NEW ) PURELY BY COINCIDENCE Sweet Sensation
22 ( NEW ) I WON’T DANCE John Henry
23 ( 14 ) HEY MR CHRISTMAS Showaddywaddy
24 ( 13 ) ARE YOU READY TO ROCK Wizzard
25 ( 34 ) JANUARY Pilot
26 ( 22 ) YOU CAN MAKE ME DANCE SING OR ANYTHING (EVEN TAKE THE DOG FOR A WALK MEND A FUSE FOLD AWAY THE IRONING BOARD OR ANY OTHER DOMESTIC SHORTCOMINGS) The Faces featuring Rod Stewart
27 ( 20 ) DING DONG George Harrison
28 ( 31 ) LONELY THIS CHRISTMAS Mud
29 ( 33 ) GET DANCIN’ PART 2 Disco Tex and The Sex-o-lettes
30 ( 28 ) LUCY IN THE SKY WITH DIAMONDS Elton John

31 ( 18 ) SOUND YOUR FUNKY HORN KC And The Sunshine Band
32 ( 23 ) I HEARD IT THROUGH THE GRAPEVINE Marvin Gaye
33 ( 30 ) IRE FEELINGS (SKANGA) Rupie Edwards
34 ( 29 ) HOLD ME TIGHT Johnny Nash
35 ( NEW ) TWO SLEEPY PEOPLE Philip and Vanessa
36 ( 38 ) JUKEBOX JIVE The Rubettes
37 ( 39 ) OH YES YOU’RE BEAUTIFUL Gary Glitter
38 ( 42 ) ROCK ‘N’ ROLL (I GAVE YOU THE BEST YEARS OF MY LIFE) Terry Jacks
39 ( 25 ) LIFE OF THE PARTY The Jackson 5
40 ( 26 ) CANDY BABY Beano

41 ( 24 ) THE INBETWEENIES The Goodies
42 ( 15 ) WOMBLING MERRY CHRISTMAS The Wombles
43 ( 43 ) PLEASE TELL HIM THAT I SAID HELLO Dana
44 ( 44 ) ALI SHUFFLE Georgie Fame
45 ( NEW ) FLY NOW Brian Protheroe
46 ( 40 ) CHRISTMAS SONG Gilbert O’Sullivan
47 ( 46 ) EVERYBODY NEEDS A RAINBOW Ray Stevens
48 ( 37 ) FATHER CHRISTMAS DO NOT TOUCH ME The Goodies
49 ( 41 ) YOU CAN HAVE IT ALL George McRae
50 ( 32 ) MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYBODY Slade

Our House, Innsworth

Our House, Innsworth


21st January 1975

Back up to number one, Gloria Gaynor’s Never Can Say Goodbye becomes the first record to go back up to 1 twice, for the 3rd week in 5, keeping ahead of the chasing pack, Cats In The Cradle and Angie Baby, both American chart-toppers and showing my tastes were getting more and more American-chart-influenced thanks to The American Forces chartshow rundown, and American (UK based) chart and pop and music encyclopedia Paul Gambaccini on Radio 1, who became the Music Industry Font of All Knowledge for decades, and someone I look up to still (I have an actual hand-written letter from him after I noted some errors in the first edition of the Guinness Book Of UK Hit Singles and wrote in with some US chart fact questions).

Quo get their 5th hit, as Down Down hits 6, and Dave Jordan (who?!) gets to 8. Ringo’s back with Only You, shuffling along to a new chart re-entry peak of 17, and highest new entry is the terrific Goodbye My Love from the Glitter Band, one I under-rated a bit, but gives them their 3rd hit in at 20. I just listened to it again, and it’s a great song and record, unfairly forgotten, being as it hit UK chart peak of 2 as well. At 21, Sugar Candy Kisses finally gives brother and sister Mac And Katie Kissoon a big UK hit, 4 years after scoring in the States with their version of Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep. It’s sweet as it’s title.

Claire Hamill seems to still be active releasing the occasional album or backing big names, but here she is with an actual chart entry of her own, here and nowhere else, with Geronimo’s Cadillac, very folk-styled in a Maria Muldaur fashion, in at 27, just ahead of a reggae-cover-version that I’ve not heard in 40 years. Jamaican Smokey 007 never made it big either, and as there’s no youtube or itunes link, it looks like I’m not going to get to hear his version of The New Seekers hit cover of Delaney & Bonnie’s Never Ending Song Of Love ever again. The New Seekers hit 1 with their version in my charts 4 years earlier, and I obviously liked this one, so it’s a huge shame I can’t hear it. Doh!

Queen follow-up 2 Freddie Mercury song chart-toppers in a row with a Brian May song, Now I’m Here. It rocks along nicely, but the drop in song standard was very noticeable to me, even though I didn’t know who was writing the songs at the time.
JImmy Ruffin’s 3rd oldie in 4 hits in 6 months is his 1967 and 1969 UK hit, I’ve Passed This Way Before – it didn’t chart in my charts in 1969, as it fell short of the top 30 just before we left for Singapore, and I really don’t recall hearing it, but it’s as fab as Jimmy Ruffin’s greatest records and his 7th chart hit here. A great singer, just like his younger brother, David Ruffin of the Temptations.

Finally, Iron Cross’ glamrock bubblegum gem finally enter my charts 3 years on with a record that I loved from Alan Freeman’s show in 1972 (but wasn’t eligible to chart as it failed to make the UK top 30). This really should have been a hit, though the original US number 2 from 1967 (The Music Explosion) is also pretty good – a Kasenatz-Katt (bubblegum producers) creation, which makes absolute sense, as the riffs were nicked by The Archies, the ultimate bubblegum act. The Ramones and Bruce Springsteen have covered this song, and it’s pop-punktastic.

1 ( 2 ) NEVER CAN SAY GOODBYE Gloria Gaynor
2 ( 1 ) ONLY YOU CAN Fox
3 ( 3 ) GET DANCIN’ Disco Tex and The Sex-o-lettes
4 ( 7 ) CATS IN THE CRADLE Harry Chapin
5 ( 8 ) ANGIE BABY Helen Reddy
6 ( 16 ) DOWN DOWN Status Quo
7 ( 5 ) YOU AIN’T SEEN NOTHIN’ YET Bachman-Turner Overdrive
8 ( 12 ) STREET CORNER MUSIC Dave Jordan
9 ( 4 ) THE MAN WITH THE GOLDEN GUN Lulu
10 ( 6 ) HAPPY XMAS (WAR IS OVER) John & Yoko and The Plastic Ono Band with The Harlem Community Choir

11 ( 9 ) LOVE IS ALL Roger Glover and Guests (featuring Ronnie Dio)
12 ( 14 ) BOOGIE ON REGGAE WOMAN Stevie Wonder
13 ( 10 ) STARDUST David Essex
14 ( 17 ) SOMETHING FOR THE GIRL WITH EVERYTHING Sparks
15 ( 11 ) JE T’AIME…MOI NON PLUS Jane Birkin and Serge Gainsbourg
16 ( 19 ) HELP ME MAKE IT THROUGH THE NIGHT John Holt
17 ( RE ) ONLY YOU Ringo Starr
18 ( 21 ) PURELY BY COINCIDENCE Sweet Sensation
19 ( 22 ) I WON’T DANCE John Henry
20 ( NEW ) GOODBYE MY LOVE The Glitter Band

21 ( NEW ) SUGAR CANDY KISSES Mac And Katie Kissoon
22 ( 18 ) CRYING OVER YOU Ken Boothe
23 ( 24 ) ARE YOU READY TO ROCK Wizzard
24 ( 13 ) I CAN HELP Billy Swan
25 ( 25 ) JANUARY Pilot
26 ( NEW ) NEVER ENDING SONG OF LOVE Smokey 007
27 ( NEW ) GERONIMO’S CADILLAC Claire Hamill
28 ( 47 ) EVERYBODY NEEDS A RAINBOW Ray Stevens
29 ( 15 ) SO LONG Abba
30 ( 20 ) I WISH IT COULD BE CHRISTMAS EVERYDAY Wizzard

31 ( 29 ) GET DANCIN’ PART 2 Disco Tex and The Sex-o-lettes
32 ( 26 ) YOU CAN MAKE ME DANCE SING OR ANYTHING (EVEN TAKE THE DOG FOR A WALK MEND A FUSE FOLD AWAY THE IRONING BOARD OR ANY OTHER DOMESTIC SHORTCOMINGS) The Faces featuring Rod Stewart
33 ( 23 ) HEY MR CHRISTMAS Showaddywaddy
34 ( 32 ) I HEARD IT THROUGH THE GRAPEVINE Marvin Gaye
35 ( 34 ) HOLD ME TIGHT Johnny Nash
36 ( NEW ) NOW I’M HERE Queen
37 ( NEW ) I’VE PASSED THIS WAY BEFORE Jimmy Ruffin
38 ( 35 ) TWO SLEEPY PEOPLE Philip and Vanessa
39 ( 33 ) IRE FEELINGS (SKANGA) Rupie Edwards
40 ( 31 ) SOUND YOUR FUNKY HORN KC And The Sunshine Band

41 ( 36 ) JUKEBOX JIVE The Rubettes
42 ( 27 ) DING DONG George Harrison
43 ( 38 ) ROCK ‘N’ ROLL (I GAVE YOU THE BEST YEARS OF MY LIFE) Terry Jacks
44 ( 30 ) LUCY IN THE SKY WITH DIAMONDS Elton John
45 ( 37 ) OH YES YOU’RE BEAUTIFUL Gary Glitter
46 ( 45 ) FLY NOW Brian Protheroe
47 ( 28 ) LONELY THIS CHRISTMAS Mud
48 ( NEW ) LITTLE BIT O’ SOUL Iron Cross
49 ( 43 ) PLEASE TELL HIM THAT I SAID HELLO Dana
50 ( 44 ) ALI SHUFFLE Georgie Fame


28th January 1975

A new number one, and it’s Helen Reddy’s Angie Baby, a record where the lyrics are essential to the appeal, a sort of disturbing spooky story song in a vaguely MOR setting, wholesome with a twist. Fab. Re-entering at 4 it’s The Carpenters adding another dose of wholesomeness with the very catchy cover of Please Mr Postman. The Beatles also covered it, and the Carpenters covered Ticket To Ride for a lovely circular bit of cover-versioning. Syreeta also gets her follow-up hit to Spinnin’ And Spinnin, at 19, the delicious Your Kiss Is Sweet. At 30, Love Unlimited (aka Mrs Barry White and friends) get a second Barry-White written and produced hit 3 years after Walking In The Rain With The One I Love, the smooth strings-harmony-soul delight of It May Be Winter Outside…just weather-obsessed, them!

Talking of oldies, I was finally getting to hear some of the missing UK hit records from my 1970 Singapore days, courtesy of Jimmy Now Then Now Then on his 5 Years Ago chartshow on Radio 1, so at least he was good for something. Don’t know what I’m ever gonna do with that Jim’ll Fix It T shirt though…. One chart entry at 49 links to that, Blue MInk’s debut hit Melting Pot finally charts at the tail end of their career instead of the much better Get Up, which would instead become a minor hit record in the summer for The Rimshots with a different title, 7654321 (Blow Your Whistle). Melting Pot is OK, well-meaning, but has some non-pc lyrics these days so it’s not likely to be covered anytime soon.

Highest new entry though is 1971 top tenner, Brandy, from Scott English, a heartfelt emotional ballad with a touch of class. It was reissued no doubt to catch a few sales from a much bigger hit cover by Barry Manilow – Mandy. Change the name, slow it down, go over the top, bland it up, and hey presto everyone thinks you did the original. Scott English remains the definitive (unknown) version. In at 5. In at 15, the even older Footsie, by Wigan’s Chosen Few. The Northern Soul scene was huge in Wigan, and this 1968 b-side track by The Chosen Few was basically speeded up and overdubbed with crowds and sound effects to get a dancefloor vibe groovin’. I loved it at the time, less so these days, but it’s fun, and it really boosted Northern Soul dancing and fashions in the discos down south as well as northern England.

The rest: Bachman-Turner Overdrive get a their lesser follow-up hit to a classic, Arrows also get a follow-up hit, the pleasant My Last Night With You – should’ve gone with I Love Rock ‘n’ Roll, really, they had two series of music shows on ITV, Joan Jett took a shine to it while touring with The Runaways, hey presto worldwide hit. This was Arrows last gasp in the charts, sadly. Back again a year on, it’s Otis’ son Dexter Redding and God Bless – I really did like that one, wish I could get hold of a copy! Sha Na Na get a second hit with a record I have no memory of at all, but as Hot Sox exists nowhere online, I can say nothing about it all. Doh!

Finally, at a modest 50, it’s Number 9 Dream, John Lennon’s single from his Non-Yoko year and then-girlfriend May Pang adds backing-vocals. The single amusingly peaked at number 9 in the USA, but frustratingly only hit 23 in the UK charts, both vastly under-appreciating the genius of this record, quite possibly my favourite John Lennon solo track, give or take the Xmas song charting higher than it. It came to John in a dream, and it has a dreamy, otherworldly feel to it, and that melody is a killer, the nonsense chorus is just gorgeous. It remain’s John’s unknown classic, and high-time that was changed.

1 ( 5 ) ANGIE BABY Helen Reddy
2 ( 1 ) NEVER CAN SAY GOODBYE Gloria Gaynor
3 ( 4 ) CATS IN THE CRADLE Harry Chapin
4 ( RE ) PLEASE MR POSTMAN The Carpenters
5 ( NEW ) BRANDY Scott English
6 ( 3 ) GET DANCIN’ Disco Tex and The Sex-o-lettes
7 ( 8 ) STREET CORNER MUSIC Dave Jordan
8 ( 6 ) DOWN DOWN Status Quo
9 ( 2 ) ONLY YOU CAN Fox
10 ( 12 ) BOOGIE ON REGGAE WOMAN Stevie Wonder

11 ( 20 ) GOODBYE MY LOVE The Glitter Band
12 ( 21 ) SUGAR CANDY KISSES Mac And Katie Kissoon
13 ( 26 ) NEVER ENDING SONG OF LOVE Smokey 007
14 ( 14 ) SOMETHING FOR THE GIRL WITH EVERYTHING Sparks
15 ( NEW ) FOOTSIE Wigan’s Chosen Few
16 ( 7 ) YOU AIN’T SEEN NOTHIN’ YET Bachman-Turner Overdrive
17 ( 10 ) HAPPY XMAS (WAR IS OVER) John & Yoko and The Plastic Ono Band with The Harlem Community Choir
18 ( 11 ) LOVE IS ALL Roger Glover and Guests (featuring Ronnie Dio)
19 ( NEW ) YOUR KISS IS SWEET Syreeta
20 ( 27 ) GERONIMO’S CADILLAC Claire Hamill

21 ( 13 ) STARDUST David Essex
22 ( 19 ) I WON’T DANCE John Henry
23 ( 16 ) HELP ME MAKE IT THROUGH THE NIGHT John Holt
24 ( 25 ) JANUARY Pilot
25 ( 17 ) ONLY YOU Ringo Starr
26 ( 15 ) JE T’AIME…MOI NON PLUS Jane Birkin and Serge Gainsbourg
27 ( 9 ) THE MAN WITH THE GOLDEN GUN Lulu
28 ( 28 ) EVERYBODY NEEDS A RAINBOW Ray Stevens
29 ( 18 ) PURELY BY COINCIDENCE Sweet Sensation
30 ( NEW ) IT MAY BE WINTER OUTSIDE (BUT IN MY HEART IT’S SPRING) Love Unlimited

31 ( 36 ) NOW I’M HERE Queen
32 ( 23 ) ARE YOU READY TO ROCK Wizzard
33 ( 24 ) I CAN HELP Billy Swan
34 ( 34 ) I HEARD IT THROUGH THE GRAPEVINE Marvin Gaye
35 ( 35 ) HOLD ME TIGHT Johnny Nash
36 ( NEW ) ROLL ON DOWN THE HIGHWAY Bachman-Turner Overdrive
37 ( NEW ) MY LAST NIGHT WITH YOU Arrows
38 ( NEW ) GOD BLESS Dexter Redding
39 ( 22 ) CRYING OVER YOU Ken Boothe
40 ( 30 ) I WISH IT COULD BE CHRISTMAS EVERYDAY Wizzard

41 ( 31 ) GET DANCIN’ PART 2 Disco Tex and The Sex-o-lettes
42 ( 29 ) SO LONG Abba
43 ( 32 ) YOU CAN MAKE ME DANCE SING OR ANYTHING (EVEN TAKE THE DOG FOR A WALK MEND A FUSE FOLD AWAY THE IRONING BOARD OR ANY OTHER DOMESTIC SHORTCOMINGS) The Faces featuring Rod Stewart
44 ( 33 ) HEY MR CHRISTMAS Showaddywaddy
45 ( NEW ) HOT SOX Sha Na Na
46 ( 40 ) SOUND YOUR FUNKY HORN KC And The Sunshine Band
47 ( 37 ) I’VE PASSED THIS WAY BEFORE Jimmy Ruffin
48 ( 48 ) LITTLE BIT O’ SOUL Iron Cross
49 ( NEW ) MELTING POT Blue Mink
50 ( NEW ) #9 DREAM John Lennon

On TV I have yet to mention TISWAS, which in these days was not a national show, just regional around the Midlands area on ITV, it was a new anarchic, slapstick, hectic, jokey Saturday morning marathon kids TV show hosted by Chris Tarrant, future DJ, TV star, and host of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire, the original. Little kids loved the naughtiness and custard pies, bigger kids like me loved that Tarrant was taking the pee out of kids (without being nasty). It made a star of Lenny Henry, and Spit The Dog, had pop stars galore joining in the fun, and John Gorman ex-The Scaffold was on hand too. Eventually it spread to other regions and became a massive hit show (and even made the UK singles charts in 1980), but in 1975 I was there and a big fan ahead of the rest of the UK by quite a few years…

Leave a Reply

